Heritage Park

Building locations and gardens in the former Fort identified by historic records and archaeological excavations, are demarcated by raised limestone walls.

Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries Heritage Wall

Symbolizing the original west wall of the Fort, the Heritage Wall has been described as "four hundred feet of steel and light depicting centuries of history." Explore

Interpretive Center (future)

Although the Park will have year-round use and attractions, indoor space is needed to enhance the experience and provide visitors a space to discuss, learn and observe.


This original structure (1853) is the main entrance to the Fort and the Park. Explore

Wooden Wall

A wooden wall protected the north half of the Fort after its expansion in the early 1850s. This replica was erected in the 1980s. Explore

Kitchen Garden

Local foods were very important in the diet of Fort employees. They also reduced the shipping expenses of the Hudson's Bay Company and of the military forces stationed here. Explore

General Depot

One of two storehouses built in 1860. Explore

Governor's Garden

The oval ornamental garden inside the gate reflects the character and form of the 1860's garden that decorated the forecourt of the Governor’s house. Explore

Governor's House

This was the residence of senior Hudson’s Bay Company officers and, from 1871 to 1883, of Manitoba’s Lieutenant Governor. Explore

West Wing

A large addition to the Governor's House and temporary base for Louis Riel. Explore

1859 House

The first dwelling of frame construction at Upper Fort Garry. Explore

Engine House

This building held the Fort's firefighting engine. Explore

Well House

Protected the fort's source of water. Explore

Office Building

Administrative centre of fur company operations in the heart of the "workaday" section of the Fort and, in 1870, the home of the Legislative Assembly of Assiniboia. Explore

Flag Pole

Many different flags flew at Upper Fort Garry between the 1830s and the 1880s, including the HBC standard and the flags representing the Provisional Government of 1869-70. Explore

Pemmican Store

Storage area for plains provisions such as pemmican and grain. Explore


Cylindrical stone towers were located at each of the original Fort's four corners. Explore

Fur Store

A storage building for plains produce, trade goods, and imports for sale. The store was partially converted into barracks when troops occupied the Fort. Explore

Yellow Store

This storehouse was named for the colour of its plaster coat. Explore

Stone Walls / Trellis

The steel trellis marks the location of the north stone wall of the original Upper Fort Garry 1835-1851. Explore